Home > Episode Guide, The Colbert Report > June 7, 2011 – Sugar Ray Leonard

June 7, 2011 – Sugar Ray Leonard

The Colbert Report Episode Guide EPISODE NUMBER: 7073 (June 7, 2011)
GUEST: Sugar Ray Leonard
SEGMENTS: Scott Pelley’s First CBS Broadcast | The Word – Hear No Evil | Kim Bojang-ils | Apologies to Shimshamistan
SUIT REPORT: Black suit | Light blue shirt | Lilac stripey tie | Black tap shoes (3)
VIDEOS: Tuesday, June 7, 2011

They really have a knack for character descriptions over at The Colbert Report. Scott Pelley just has to be a Century 21 real estate agent masquerading as a newsman. He must be. And Will Forte can play him in the movie.

Scott Pelley

"Did you go to journalism school, Pelley? Remember the five W's: Who, What, When, Where, and Wang."

The Word did not disappoint last night. I can identify a little too well with the Katy Perry song reference. I could not stand “ET” the first time I heard it and now I find myself turning it up and dancing around whenever I hear it on the radio. whyyyyy

Katy Perry

"It is clearly possible to be radicalized by hearing just one speech. Because radicals are like Katy Perry. You hear her new song, you swear you don't like it, then the next thing you know you're singing Teenage Dream in front of your interns, and you just bought yourself a court-ordered apology."


Kim Jong Il

"We haven't stopped them from acquiring nuclear centrifuges, but we have cut off their access to tap dance technology. Kim Jong Il may rule his people with an iron fist, but now he'll never be able to crush them with a jazz hand."

Stephen’s jazz hand reminded me of this little clip from an alternate universe where the Statue of Liberty is bronze, riding in airships is a chief mode of travel, and Stephen Colbert hosts The Daily Show.

tap tap tap

"Here in America, it is all about the tap."


Sugar Ray Leonard

Stephen wins!

Finally, Sugar Ray Leonard sure is a cutie. Such an honest interview from both Sugar Ray and Stephen. And so much more coherent than the Werner Herzog interview. Which leaves me with a question: Which is better? Stephen’s tap dancing, or Sugar Ray’s paso doble? Discuss.

  1. lockhart43
    June 8, 2011 at 3:22 PM

    I would like to hug whoever came up with the idea of a tap dancing Stephen. And if that person was actually Stephen, then so be it! As for The Word, I have just one thing to say: bravo, TCR writers. BRAVO. That closing line was beautiful.

    The interview with Sugar Ray Leonard is a perfect example of Stephen’s brilliance and versatility as an interviewer. His ability to be charming, professional, admiring, serious, goofy, funny, and even acrobatic (more verbally, but yes, physically as well) all at the same time is awe-inspiring. And the thought of Stephen as a boy sitting with his mother watching a boxing match just makes me smile.

    Like

    • susan209
      June 9, 2011 at 1:13 AM

      What she said!
      I agree 100%. I would like to also add that I really enjoyed Stephen’s reaction to winning that thumb wrestling match!

      Like

  2. colbaby
    June 8, 2011 at 7:19 PM

    Sugar Ray Leonard was absolutely charming; hard to believe a guy that sweet and soft spoken is capable of hurting a fly. Every time I hear his name though, I think of the episode of Seinfeld where George’s boss gets offended when he tells him he looks like SRL lol. Oh and how freaking big are Stephen’s hands?!

    The Word was brilliant as always. The idea of someone like Rand Paul being an elected official scares me a whole hell of a lot more than underwear bombers. And kudos to Scott Pelley. Keep up the good work, sir. May your sense of perspective inspire your colleagues.

    And if I can just check in with our good friend Jon Stewart for a moment, he and John’s Weiner segment cracked me up. His poor hand! And I died laughing at Kristen Schaal’s 3 responses to penis pics. I don’t think she’s had a single segment that wasn’t spot on. *slow clap*

    Like

    • lockhart43
      June 9, 2011 at 3:23 AM

      I’m glad you mentioned last night’s TDS opener, that was a pitch-perfect response to the situation. I watched the whole segment with a giant smile on my face and when John told Jon not to “be so Jewish” about his injury, I lost it and started cracking up. And a resounding “Amen!” about Kristen Schaal; I always love her segments. She’s just fantastic, period.

      Like

      • colbaby
        June 9, 2011 at 3:47 AM

        I loved Jon’s Catholic zinger about turning the blood into a drink after that remark from John O. The guy is so quick witted it’s crazy. And while bleeding out no less!

        Like

    • lockhart43
      June 9, 2011 at 5:20 AM

      Ha! Yeah I loved that, too. The sidebar jokes that kept popping up [He apologizes to the intern who had to count the c*** jokes] were freakin’ hilarious as well. Is it weird that I was kind of hoping John Oliver would at least host through the first segment? It would have been interesting to see his delivery style while sitting in the big boy chair. Jon’s such a trooper though; I’m sure he’ll make another joke about his hand in the opening of tonight’s episode.

      Like

      • colbaby
        June 9, 2011 at 6:55 AM

        Is it weird that when I read the joke about the intern, my immediate thought was Best. Job. EVER. “How was work today?” “Pretty good. I counted how many times my boss said c*** last week.” “So how many ti…” “TEN.”

        I wouldn’t mind seeing John O. try his hand at hosting either. I think Corddry was the last correspondent to host, but I may be wrong.

        Like

      • lockhart43
        June 9, 2011 at 11:10 PM

        It’s not weird at all – I think that all the time about interns working for TCR. I still think running around the streets of Manhattan looking for every possible flavor of Pringles (from a bit he did last year) would be the greatest job on the planet.

        Like

  3. gentoo3
    June 9, 2011 at 12:50 PM

    Stephen was like a little kid when he won the thumb war. That was hilarious. And the tap dancing! Stephen + dancing is always a winner in my book.

    The whole opening for TDS was hysterical. Every bit of it. And now that he’s suffered a traumatic wrist injury I think Jon needs to start wearing a WristStrong bracelet. 😉

    Like

    • June 10, 2011 at 3:16 AM

      I second the wearing of a WristStrong bracelet!! It can make up for the lack of Toss-age!!

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

And that's the Word

