Home > Episode Guide, The Colbert Report Staff > June 13th, 2011 – Henry Kissinger

June 13th, 2011 – Henry Kissinger

The Colbert Report Episode Guide EPISODE NUMBER: 7076 (June 13, 2011)
GUESTS: Henry Kissinger
SEGMENTS: Anthony Weiner Gym Photos | Sport Report – Miami Heat, FIFA & Freestyle Canoe Dancing | Henry Kissinger Pt. 1 | Henry Kissinger Pt. 2
SUIT REPORT: Dark suit | White shirt | Blue and grey diagonally stripped tie
VIDEOS: Monday, June 13, 2011

Wasn’t that a rowdy crowd last night!! I wish I was in the room!! I hope that was in response to Stephen’s wonderful performance at “The Tony Awards”!!

My viewing of “The Tony Awards” last night was somewhat interupted by my wonderings at what Stephen and Jon would do with the latest Weiner Gate “photography” session. I had already seen the full collection on TMZ, and Stephen certainly didn’t disappoint, though putting Weiner next to Snoopy in the Macy’s parade is a big no-no. I love Snoopy and do not want to think of Weiner and his towel rack everytime I see Snoopy. Especially given how found Stephen is of drawing him.

As an Australian, I am very much into the Qatar 2022 World Cup controversy. Australia, like the US also put in a bid to host the cup, and I can assure you that it was not happy days when we stayed up into the early hours of the morning only to watch us lose the bid. While I personally don’t think Australia is the right place to host the World Cup, it does still bother me that other countries feel they need to buy their way in.

The Colbert Report Soccer

Being the mega sports fan that I am, I’d like to thank Stephen for introducing me to the world of Freestyle Canoe Dancing. Just the thought of how many times they went in the drink to get that could is funny enough on its own, you really don’t need to add “Phantom of the Opera” to the mix, but they did and the full clip is hilarious. I definately have to say though, that my favourite is the “Pirates of the Carribean” performance, by a young man who took a four year break from competition to go to College. I eagerly await his 2013 comeback performance, and yes I really have watched that many clips on YouTube.



I haven’t been able to watch the Kissinger interview yet, so I’ll leave it to you guys to leave a comment on your thoughts on the interview, and your favourite “Canoe Dancing” performances. Canoe-dig-it?

  1. mrarkadinnfz
    June 15, 2011 at 7:29 AM

    Hi everyone. I was Mr. Arkadin at NFZ. I could no longer take not commenting on TCR with my friends so here I am. *Waves hello*
    Katt, your so right about the crowd last night. But what did Stephen say at the beginning of the show that drove that woman wild last night? “Stop that! Your embarrassing yourself!” I thought it was “Sewell.” Which makes no sense. Unless you worship Rufus Sewell. But why would you bring that up to Stephen?
    Anyway. Loved the freestyle canoe dancing. Where do they find this stuff! Is it wrong that when I saw that “sport” my first thought was, “I bet this is a British thing.” Sorry.
    The Kissinger interview was about what I thought it would be. Like Karenatasha, I despise the man. But Stephen has his Nixon fetish, so I just have to grin and bear it. And to be fair it’s not like Stephen’s going to make Kissinger confess to being a scumbag with tough, probing questions anyway. He did give old Henry the business before going to the interview table. That was nice. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Arkadina
      June 15, 2011 at 10:22 PM

      Long-lost Bizarro twin! We meet again, my friend…

      At least one of us is deaf. I thought he said “stool”. Again, why would you bring that up to Stephen??

      Under the false impression he’d be interesting, I found old man Kissinger quite heavy going, but then I don’t suppose he got where he is by opening up to cheeky chappies half his age!

      Like

      • mrarkadinnfz
        June 16, 2011 at 5:59 AM

        Yes, Bizarro world twin. We meet again. Thanks for the welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Unfortunately, my journey from NFZ/Bizarro world to “The Hub” has rendered me deaf. Stephen did say “stool” at the instigation of a former zoner.

        Like

    • lockhart43
      June 15, 2011 at 10:28 PM

      Welcome back, buddy. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • mrarkadinnfz
        June 16, 2011 at 6:01 AM

        Thank you buddy. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

    • susan209
      June 15, 2011 at 11:24 PM

      Hi! Nice to see you back.

      Like

      • susan209
        June 15, 2011 at 11:25 PM

        Oh, I should have mentioned… Former “SW.” I’m not sure if this will be placed before or after my first message. So welcome back again!

        Like

      • mrarkadinnfz
        June 16, 2011 at 6:04 AM

        Thank you Susan209!
        Don’t worry. I knew you were the artist formerly known as SW. I’ve been a lurker here for awhile. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

    • shellichelle
      June 16, 2011 at 1:46 AM

      Hey! Welcome back! It’s “luvtcr” from the nfz page.

      The word Stephen said was “stool” and he said it for two former zoners who, I hope, find their way here and provide a taping reporT. It is based on the Q&A before the show but I don’t have all the details so I will encourage them to log in and share cuz I want to know, too!

      Like

      • mrarkadinnfz
        June 16, 2011 at 6:15 AM

        Thanks shellichelle/luvtcr! It’s great to “see” you here.

        And thanks for correcting me about Sewell/stool. My first post here & I get everything in it wrong. *headdesk* I’m such a dunce!

        I think Katt’s in contact (via Twitter) w/ one of the former zoners & she’s agreed to write up a reporT . *Fingers crossed*

        Like

    • anais0509
      June 16, 2011 at 7:02 AM

      Hiya, Mr. Arkadin! Welcome to the Hub! We hardly ever talked, but it’s nice to see another former Zoner make their appearance (I’m Anais)!

      This episode didn’t do it for me, mostly because of Kissinger. Loved the Freestyle Canoe Dancing bit, though. What’s gonna be next? Freestyle Roller-Skating-Disco? Freestyle Sky-Diving-Ballet? With many creative people out there, who know’s what the next “in” sport will be? I’m really interested to know the back story of the beginning of the show, so def waiting expectantly for a reporT.

      Like

      • mrarkadinnfz
        June 16, 2011 at 1:34 PM

        I remember you, Anais0509. And I thank you very much for your welcome.

        Like

  2. iwaspromisedpancakes
    June 15, 2011 at 8:13 AM

    I particularly liked when Kissenger just looked at Stephen like he was crazy when Stephen said he believed the cold war was still ongoing. That freakin’ cracked me up all day.
    Freestyle-Canoeing, is well, an interesting follow-up to the Tonys. I would like to see the Book of Mormon as expressed by Canoe; all those white shirts and black ties!

    Like

  3. lockhart43
    June 15, 2011 at 10:51 PM

    I loved how giddy Stephen was at the top of the show – I’m guessing he was still riding the wave of excitement from the Tony Awards. The fact that Freestyle-Canoe Dancing is a sport cracks me up. And I’m one of the small percentage of people who actually enjoys watching soccer on TV, so I always laugh when Stephen falls asleep to a soccer broadcast. It is frustrating that the United States lost the bid – people talked about the World Cup for like 5 minutes last summer here in the States, and then decided to forget about it again once the U.S. team was out, so actually having it here would have brought some much-needed attention to the sport.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

And that's the Word

