Home > Episode Guide > June 14, 2011 – Janny Scott

June 14, 2011 – Janny Scott

The Colbert Report Episode Guide EPISODE NUMBER: 7070 (June 14, 2011)
GUESTS: Janny Scott
SEGMENTS: Elephants in the Room |Close Sesame
SUIT REPORT: Dark suit | White shirt | Purple tie with white polka dots
VIDEOS: Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Live discussion thread. Post away Hubsters and I will fill in the caps and quotes after the show.

Stephen Colbert Marshmallows

"Where the f*** are my marshmallows?!?"

  1. lockhart43
    June 15, 2011 at 2:08 PM

    I’m not going to lie to you, it was a little hard to pay attention during this episode, because I seriously could not stop staring at his hair and that glorious tie. But somehow, I managed to soldier on. The bit about Tim Pawlenty’s “Google test” was really brilliant. And “Where the f*** are my marshmallows?” is easily one of the funniest things I’ve ever heard Stephen say.

    Like

    • mrarkadinnfz
      June 16, 2011 at 1:42 PM

      Forgive me. As this has nothing to do with Stephen, TCR or your above comment. But since you’re my comedy guru, (Poor you!) and I can now talk to you again. I was wondering: have you seen H. Jon Benjamin’s new show? Is it any good?

      Like

      • lockhart43
        June 16, 2011 at 3:13 PM

        Comedy guru – that is a job title I can totally live with!

        I actually wasn’t able to catch his new show last night or tonight, which was a little frustrating as I’ve been really looking forward to it. Last night I was listening to Stephen’s interview on “Fresh Air” and totally forgot that it was on, and I missed it tonight because I didn’t get home from the Company showing until just before TDS started. But, I did catch a tiny bit of the first episode when it reran during my lunch hour today, and I liked what I saw. So, the short answer to your question is: I haven’t seen enough of it yet, but I’ll try to watch it before a new episode next week and I’ll let you know. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • lockhart43
        June 24, 2011 at 3:22 AM

        Hey there! So I had a chance to watch the first two episodes of Benjamin’s show, and watched the newest episode last night. I will say that it’s definitely not as funny as “Archer” (or “Bob’s Burgers” for that matter), but it is worth a watch. The second episode was the funniest out of all three, and there was a segment in the first episode called “You Can’t Shoot Here” which was pretty funny. It’s a different format than I was expecting for the show – it’s got a kind of local-news feel to it, with Benjamin doing different fake field reports. All in all, the show’s not as funny as I was expecting it to be, which is a bit disappointing, but Benjamin himself is funny on it, and I’ll probably stick it out and watch the whole season. Let me know what you think of it when you do get a chance to watch an episode. πŸ™‚

        On another note, I would highly recommend the show “Raising Hope” on FOX – the season’s already over with, but they’ve been playing reruns every Tuesday at 9, so I’ve been catching up on episodes I missed. Martha Plimpton (Stephen’s costar in Company) is on the show too, if that’s any incentive. πŸ™‚

        Like

    • mrarkadinnfz
      June 26, 2011 at 7:00 AM

      I don’t check my email regularly & since this otherwise great site doesn’t have a “recent comment” section I didn’t know you had responded, so sorry for the delay in answering you.

      Too bad about Benjamin show. Doesn’t sound to promising. But, I may give the second show a look online.

      “Raising Hope?” Really? That’s the one with the baby, right? You’ve just blown my mind! From the commercials I’ve seen I just presumed it would be nonstop baby poop & vomit jokes. Well. I’ll have to give it a try. I mean, I can’t really go against a comedy guru can I. πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for getting back to me on this. I really do appreciate it.

      Like

      • lockhart43
        June 26, 2011 at 11:52 AM

        No worries, I figured you’d come across it eventually. Yeah, I’m hoping the show grows on me; so far, it’s bits and pieces that are funny, but the show itself was not what I was expecting and that’s thrown me off.

        And yes, “Raising Hope” is the one with the baby, lol. I know it kinda looks like it would just be all about the baby, but it’s more about the family as a whole. Martha Plimpton and the guy who plays her husband are hilarious, and Cloris Leachman’s really funny on it. If you watch it and don’t like it, it’s totally fine; but check it out. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • June 27, 2011 at 12:11 AM

        I have added a recent comment section to the side bar. I hope that makes replying to comments a little easier for you.

        Like

    • mrarkadinnfz
      July 1, 2011 at 1:30 PM

      Hello! Just wanted to let you know I’ve now seen three episodes of “Raising Hope.” I loved the first show I saw. It was the one where the family becoming obsessed with germs. Truly sick and very funny! I wasn’t as crazy about the pilot episode or the episode with Amy Sedaris. (Although I did enjoy her “seduction dance” towards the end.) But overall a good show. And while I don’t know that I’ll become a devoted follower, I will try to watching more shows on-demand it when I can.
      So, (if for the “Germs” show alone) thanks for opening up my eyes to something I had prejudged with no intention of watching. :]

      Like

      • lockhart43
        July 1, 2011 at 2:14 PM

        Hey! I’m so glad to hear you liked “Raising Hope!” Or, at least liked one of the episodes you saw. You are right about the germs episode, that one is hilarious. And I will agree with you about the pilot episode – I actually didn’t see that one until two weeks ago, and after seeing the episodes that followed, the pilot sort of feels like an entirely different show. If I had to point out a couple of my faves, the two episodes that I saw on Tuesday, “Family Secrets” and “Burt Rocks” were both really great, and I really liked the season finale.

        And you’re very welcome! Glad I could help. :]

        Like

  2. iwaspromisedpancakes
    June 15, 2011 at 8:58 PM

    The broccoli marshmallow thing just killed me, especially when he tried to speak.

    Like

  3. shellichelle
    June 16, 2011 at 6:25 AM

    I lost it with “Grover-Meat” and if I were a betting lady, I would have bet that phrase and pic would lead to a character break. It didn’t, but it looked like he was trying hard to be a class act and keep it together πŸ™‚ All I had to do was wait because he finally broke as the segment ended with a mouth full of marshmallows! No one else can take me from a spineless T Paw to dipping brocolli in marshmallow fluff with such crafted comedy–God I Love This Show!

    Like

    • mrarkadinnfz
      June 16, 2011 at 6:41 AM

      OMG. I forgot about “Grover-meat.” That was awesome!

      Like

  4. mrarkadinnfz
    June 16, 2011 at 6:30 AM

    I loved the Pawlenty put down. Just great. Especially the “soaring like a chicken tossed off a barn.”
    “T-Paw ” is such a phony.

    And tip o’ the hat to TDS for it’s complete destruction of CNN last night. Fantastic! Can you believe the inane questions John King was asking? And he was once a real journalist! Unbelievable.
    Bravo TDS. Bravo.

    Like

    • lockhart43
      June 16, 2011 at 3:33 PM

      I’m so happy Stephen handled T-Paw’s “Google test” the way he did, because the entire idea is freaking ridiculous. Does Pawlenty think that we’re just so enamored with him for mentioning Google and attempting to be tech savvy that we’re going to completely forget all of the government programs we sincerely need? I especially loved that Stephen suggested subcontracting the Department of Transportation to a paving company run by a Hispanic-American.

      And CNN….oh, CNN…just thinking about all of the ways in which they are trying way. too. hard. instead of doing their jobs and, I don’t know, reporting the news, hurts my brain. TDS had a completely solid show last night. John Oliver’s piece about the upcoming election coverage was awesome; I laughed so hard toward the end when he was talking to Rick Santorum!

      Like

  5. anais0509
    June 17, 2011 at 1:25 AM

    “Where the f*** are my marshmallows?!” (Fantastic line)

    Forget about raccoons, Stephen. I think maybe you have a rogue alligator roaming around the studio. You know how alligators LOVE marshmallows.

    Awesome, solid and funny episode, although I started to feel queasy when he ate the Fluff-covered broccoli along with the 7+ marshmallows he already had in his mouth.

    Like

  6. lockhart43
    June 27, 2011 at 3:59 AM

    Katt :
    I have added a recent comment section to the side bar. I hope that makes reply to comments a little easier for you.

    Katt, you are awesome! Thank you so much!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

And that's the Word

