Home > Visual Delight > Visual Delight: Stephen Colbert in “Company”.

Visual Delight: Stephen Colbert in “Company”.

G’day Hubsters! There’s no better way to celebrate “Company’s” cinema release than with a Visual Delight from Stephen’s performance at The Tony Awards.

For those of you lucky enough to be seeing the show in cinemas, tell us all about your favourite moment(s) from the show!!

The Cast of Company

Stephen Colbert in Company

Stephen Colbert in Company

https://i1.wp.com/30.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lmq5i09Mec1qblm31o1_500.png

Stephen Colbert in Company

Stephen Colbert in Company

  1. June 17, 2011 at 4:41 AM

    Stephen pulled a tumbling routine with Neil and Martha that was the one he does with Paul and Amy, and the theater loooved it. 😀 It was a full house last night tooo! Stephen’s rendition of “Sorry/Grateful” was sweet, and there was joy through the whole production.

    I also enjoyed Christina Hendricks immensely, she managed to make what could have been a vapid annoying role into something endearing. Annika Noni Rose was hilarious as Marta, and of course Patti LuPone brought the house down!

    Stephen’s segment of “domestic bliss” had shades of Noblet/Claire, and he was utterly funny. 😀

    Like

  2. juice318
    June 17, 2011 at 1:43 PM

    I just came home from Company. I’ll try to post more tomorrow, and second what cee has written. Our audience was perhaps a little more sedate; however, the line that brought the house down was when “Peter” asked “Bobby” a certain relationship question. Stephen was adorable (of course!), & I was pleasantly surprised by Martha Plimpton’s & Jon Cryer’s singing. NPH was wonderful – his subtle reactions to the other characters were hysterical, and his singing was amazing.

    Like

  3. mariana312
    June 17, 2011 at 4:02 PM

    I just got home from seeing Company. I’m in San Francisco, and it was a full house of enthusiastic theater fans. I’m not sure how many people went for Stephen but I was proud to be one of them. I thought it was so much fun and sweet and poignant too. Also some hilarious vignettes. Loved seeing Stephen on a huge screen (didn’t much care for the eyeliner he was wearing, though). Sorry-Grateful was beautiful and lots of people in the audience just sighed at the end of it. I hadn’t realized from the photos that were floating around just how long Martha Plimpton and NPH were lying on top of Stephen holding those “karate” positions while the singing broke in. Lucky lucky!

    Like

  4. susan209
    June 17, 2011 at 11:09 PM

    I had already posted my comments about seeing the film on the recent “NPR interview” thread… Like a lot of people, I couldn’t wait to talk about it, so I won’t repeat myself here. However, I did want to let you all know that I contacted Lincoln Center by email to ask if/when a “Company” DVD will be out. I will let you know as soon as I hear! If anyone hears sooner, please let us all know!

    Like

    • karenatasha
      June 19, 2011 at 3:58 AM

      There will be. I’m sure of it. You don’t make a film like this for one-time viewing. The money is made on DVDs, which provide perpetual sales from collectors.

      Like

  5. somuch2kno
    June 27, 2011 at 10:40 PM

    At the risk of repeating myself… uh, I’m going to repeat myself. I posted this on CN, but I think it may be buried in a rather old thread. Anyway… I saw “Company” again last night for the second time (Ziegfeld Theatre – HUGE screen). As an extra treat, after the movie was over, Director Lonnie Price took questions from the audience. Although he didn’t reveal a lot that we don’t already know, he did confirm that at some point (probably after the movie finishes screening in Europe) the movie will be released on DVD. Can I get an “AMEN!!!!”??

    Also, when answering the various questions about rehearsals and logistics and not having everyone in the same room until the dress rehearsal that first-performance-Thursday morning (which, apparently, was a disaster – in the theatre world, that’s a favorable omen for a good opening night show), Mr. Price continually referred to Stephen’s enthusiasm and radiant joy, saying that though he probably had the least amount of true rehearsal time, he was the most hard-working and always seemed to be having the most fun. Seriously, he couldn’t stop talking about how wonderful Stephen was. And all I kept thinking was, “I know! I know!!”

    Like

    • lockhart43
      June 27, 2011 at 11:29 PM

      AMEN!

      Mr. Price continually referred to Stephen’s enthusiasm and radiant joy, saying that though he probably had the least amount of true rehearsal time, he was the most hard-working and always seemed to be having the most fun.

      It’s always nice to hear other people in places other than where I live talk about how amazing Stephen is. 😀

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

And that's the Word

