Home > Episode Guide, The Colbert Report > June 20, 2011 – Bon Iver

June 20, 2011 – Bon Iver

The Colbert Report Episode Guide EPISODE NUMBER: 7079 (June 20, 2011)
GUEST: Bon Iver
SEGMENTS: StePhest Colbchella ‘011 – Rock You Like a Thirst-Icane | ThreatDown – Moo Shu Man-Milk, Centenarians & Robo-Slackers | Bon Iver – Calgary
SUIT REPORT: Black suit | White shirt | Black tie with little white dotties | Black shoes
VIDEOS: Monday, June 20, 2011

Make sure you check out Bon Iver’s bonus performance, “Skinny Love”!

Colbchella

Less talk, more rock!

Stephen

"Summer has a well-known liberal bias."


Neosporin

"If you get a cut or something, just pour some Dr. Pepper on it. One of these ingredients has got to be Neosporin."


Norwegian Wood

"Robots have already mastered hacky sack, cup-and-ball, and the sitar. And a robot will never get tired of playing Norwegian Wood."


mono

"If you had something else, like St. Vitus dance, would you have done a club album instead?"

After tonight’s episode, I know two things: I love Bon Iver, and I will never be able to drink milk again.

  1. colbaby
    June 21, 2011 at 6:53 PM

    Be sure to check out the exclusive performance on CN.com of “Skinny Love.” Wow. I am officially a fan. And I want that guitar.

    Like

  2. lockhart43
    June 21, 2011 at 10:25 PM

    It was so nice to see Stephen during the interview with Bon Iver, instead of “Stephen”. It’s so cute when you can tell he’s a genuine fan of someone’s music. And StePhest Colbchella ‘011 is such a brilliant idea, since it’s so in tune with the show and with that character; plus, we get to listen to awesome music as a bonus and Stephen gets to hang out with Jack White (I am a huuuge fan of his band The Raconteurs, so imagine my happiness when he said that!). It was really nice to see a ThreatDown again, too.

    Finally, Bon Iver? Yeah. Definitely a fan. You can add them to the long list of bands that I have fallen in love with because of Stephen and TCR.

    Like

  3. susan209
    June 21, 2011 at 11:04 PM

    Stephen was adorable and was having so much fun last night. But I’m going to have to be honest and tell you all that I didn’t get Bon Iver. I tried. I swear. I even Googled the lyrics. I want to really like something that Stephen really likes and the rest of you like. This doesn’t mean they aren’t wonderful, of course. It’s sort of like aged scotch. People tell me it’s wonderful and valuable but all I get is that it’s like cough syrup. So don’t go by me. But I’m being honest. I’d say it’s my age, but Stephen and I are roughly the same age. Maybe he’s just hipper. Maybe I need to start drinking? I’m disappointed in myself to tell you the truth. I want to get it. Anyway, as I said, Stephen was beyond adorable. THAT, at least, I get. And if anyone can help me get the other stuff, please feel free… ’cause I really do want to. Especially since Stephen likes Bon Iver so much.

    Like

    • lockhart43
      June 21, 2011 at 11:42 PM

      Don’t worry about not liking Bon Iver – I haven’t liked every single band that’s played on the show (wasn’t that big of a fan of LCD Soundsystem, for example). Bon Iver’s just right up the alley of the kind of music I like to listen to, even though it’s not the only kind of music I listen to. I was listening to his first album last night, and there were a couple of songs that didn’t take right away, but “Skinny Love” and another one called “Blindsided” I immediately liked. Again, don’t worry if you’re not taken with a band that plays on the show; you can’t make yourself like music that doesn’t make you feel something. You can like that Stephen likes them though, and that’s just fine. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • susan209
        June 21, 2011 at 11:58 PM

        Thanks for your reply. I’ll say one thing. I love that Stephen’s show showcases artists who are not necessarily known to wider audiences. For that, Stephen and his show get an A+++. How would I know whether I like something or I don’t if I never get to hear it? So, for hearing it, whether I like it or not, I’m sending a big “thank you” to Stephen. And it’s great that we’ll all get 3 more days of hearing musical artists, whether we’ve heard them before or not.
        As an aside, did anyone else wonder what Stephen meant (and I’m assuming it was the real Stephen talking) when he said that the songs on Bon Iver’s last album touched him personally and that they were almost “painful?” I guess that’s what made me want to like the music so much. I wanted to understand what touched him so deeply. But sometimes, I guess, there’s no explanation for what touches us, any more than we can explain to someone flying over the ocean in an airplane what taking a boat across the ocean is like.

        Like

    • colbaby
      June 22, 2011 at 12:31 AM

      I wasn’t that taken with “Calgary” myself, but did you listen to “Skinny Love”? I skinny loved it! (<–No no. I'll let myself out.) After hearing it this morning, I went to the youtubes to check out For Emma, Forever Ago. I don't know what particular songs touched Stephen, but some of the lyrics are pretty devastatingly beautiful, and some of the music manages to hit those chords that just break your heart a little bit. He reminds me a wee bit of Damian Rice. His music has that same sort of complicated simplicity to it, it that makes sense. Which it doesn't now that I read back over it.

      Anywho, go to YouTube and listen to "Flume." It made me think of my mom.

      Like

      • lockhart43
        June 22, 2011 at 12:43 AM

        I didn’t know how to feel about “Calgary” until the middle of the song, when the music got more intense and the guitar beat started to chime in pretty heavily. And when I listened to “Skinny Love” this morning, I got goosebumps. You are absolutely right that he sounds a bit like Damien Rice, at least as far as the lyrics go (and call me crazy, but “complicated simplicity” totally made sense to me).

        Like

    • karenatasha
      June 22, 2011 at 2:48 PM

      Susan, I’m pretty sure it’s “For Emma, Forever Ago,” that touched Stephen. That recounts Vernon’s breakup, and I believe is more emotional. I am just beginning to learn about Bon Iver, but most of the reviews point to the first recording as better.

      However,while I like the music, not so for scotch! To me, it’s not cough syrup; it’s earth. It tastes like the ground.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

And that's the Word

