Home > Episode Guide, The Colbert Report > June 21, 2011 – Florence and the Machine

June 21, 2011 – Florence and the Machine

The Colbert Report Episode Guide EPISODE NUMBER: 7080 (June 21, 2011)
GUEST: Florence and the Machine
SEGMENTS: Generic Republican Presidential Nominee | StePhest Colbchella ‘011 – Stephen Revives His Music Career | 2011: A Rock Odyssey Featuring Jack White | Florence and the Machine – Dog Days Are Over
SUIT REPORT: Black suit | White shirt with thin black stripeys | Yellow tie with dots | Black shoes | Jack White Red tie with The Blue Stripes | Paisley suit jacket, eeeeeee
VIDEOS: Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Make sure you check out Florence and the Machine’s exclusive performance of “Cosmic Love”!

Is it just me or was Stephen’s hair looking particularly marvelous tonight? As if it was combed by angels. More on my fangirling later.

Jon Huntsman looks like a president, doesn’t he? And I am shocked that Fox News viewers would vote for a generic Republican candidate over Barack Obama! Shocked! Totally shocked! OK I’m totally not shocked.

Jon for President

Stephen’s generic candidate is just a lot of fun. I love you, TCR writers.

family man

men's room

"The only knock on this guy, other than his head not being attached to his body, is that Republicans do not need another candidate who spends a suspicious amount of time hanging around men's rooms."

So excited to see the return of my favorite 80’s group, Stephen & the Colberts! And a nice reference to 2001: A Space Odyssey, this episode has it all.

Jack White is an It-getter, that’s for sure.

Jack White

"You've gotta do it like you mean it, man, we're selling yogurt!"

TCR’s music week is becoming Adorable Interview week. Stephen is so hip. And I want to be Florence Welch when I grow up.

so cute

Wait, she’s three months younger than me?!? All these little kids!

eeeeeee

  1. iwaspromisedpancakes
    June 22, 2011 at 2:19 PM

    LOVED the mini-fail with Florence when he said “Maybe I should change too.” Excellent. Also, paisley jacket! Paisley jacket! It was positively Noblet-esque. Off to bed.

    Like

  2. karenatasha
    June 22, 2011 at 3:42 PM

    Do note that there is a bonus video for this, too. For some reason, I must have missed him saying that, but it’s of “Cosmic Love,” and it’s fantastic.

    Great show!

    Like

    • lockhart43
      June 23, 2011 at 10:57 AM

      Actually, I don’t think that he did mention there was a bonus video. But I believe I read somewhere that there will be bonus performances online from all of the guests, so I was already expecting one. I loved both songs, but “Cosmic Love” I hadn’t heard before; it was beautiful.

      Like

  3. colbaby
    June 22, 2011 at 7:59 PM

    “Dog Days” is actually the only song I knew by F+TM, but I remember having it on a loop for about a week back when it came out. She’s got a hell of a voice and the video for it is quite the spectacle.

    I have massive respect for Jack White, so the fact that he’s producing “Stephen”s next Grammy defying single is just awesome. And my old boss was obsessed with Bob Seger, so I had a bit of a flashback during that bit.

    As for Stephen’s GFF Jon Stewart, was anyone else morbidly fascinated with his destitching? I went from “Ugh! No, gross. You’re not really gonna let her to that….” to “No no! Clip it there! Just pull it! No just yank it! C’mon, Diaz!” in about 90 seconds.

    Like

    • karenatasha
      June 23, 2011 at 3:49 AM

      Ooh, I could barely watch that! I can’t believe he let her do it. But it was fascinating.

      Love Jack White, too! Anyone who loves rock guitar should see the documentary “It Might Get Loud,” featuring him, The Edge, and the great Jimmy Page discussing and playing the instrument. A wonderful film.

      Like

    • June 23, 2011 at 4:53 AM

      That destitching was the coolest thing ever. I was leaning forward all “Cmon do eet! dooo eet! ooo he’s in pain!! >:D” I still don’t know what came over me.

      Like

    • lockhart43
      June 23, 2011 at 11:04 AM

      I watched the destitching this morning before I left for work. I twinged a couple times during it, but I was mostly rooting for Diaz to finish. It was such a funny idea, and Jon was pretty cute during it. Oddly enough, I’ve watched it a couple more times since then, too. Also weirdly fascinating and something that made me a bit jealous? Seeing Cameron Diaz tying her hair back without a hair tie.

      Like

      • colbaby
        June 23, 2011 at 8:47 PM

        “Also weirdly fascinating and something that made me a bit jealous? Seeing Cameron Diaz tying her hair back without a hair tie.”

        Haha, yes. As someone who is completely hopeless at managing her own hair, I was jealous too. I suck at being female.

        Like

  4. mrarkadinnfz
    June 23, 2011 at 3:32 AM

    I know I’m dating myself as stuck in the 90’s, but didn’t Jack White look like Johnny Depp in “Benny and Joon?” Does he always look like that? Is that his “thing?” Great segment though.

    And may I just randomly say, leggy, adorable redheads always equal win! More please, TCR.

    Vote Ped Xing in 2012!

    Like

    • June 23, 2011 at 4:56 AM

      Jack White tends to look like that, he goes for a cool style with lotsa hats. I love him sooo…. 🙂 There have been Johnny Depp comparisons before, I think he has a similar sorta way and look about him.

      Like

  5. lockhart43
    June 23, 2011 at 11:29 AM

    The generic candidate segment was so, so funny! I could not stop laughing throughout the whole thing. And bless Jack White’s heart for being such an it-getter. He played that interview so straight, it was hilarious.

    StePhest Colbchella is shaping up to be pretty spectacular! Both of the songs by Florence + The Machine were wonderful. I was singing along to “Dog Days,” since it’s the only song of hers that I really know (I’m going to grab some more of her music tonight, hopefully). And how adorable was Stephen during that interview! Not a fan of the paisley jacket, but I AM a fan of the fact that he wore it. It’s funny to me that they have a jacket like that just on hand, ready for some random time they might actually need it. And @justine marie, RE: Stephen’s hair – you are totally not alone in your thinking! I’ve basically just wanted to run my fingers through his hair all week, to be honest. 😛

    Like

  6. W&M_NU
    June 23, 2011 at 4:16 PM

    I just saw Florence and the Machine open for U2 this evening. She’s an incredible performer – the entire set was wholly impressive.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

And that's the Word

