Home > Episode Guide > June 23, 2011 — The Black Belles

June 23, 2011 — The Black Belles

The Colbert Report Episode GuideEPISODE NUMBER: 7082 (June 23, 2011)
SPECIAL GUEST APPEARANCE: Jack White
GUESTS: The Black Belles
SEGMENTS:
StePhest Colbchella ‘011—Stephen Announces His Song | Nation Building in America | 2011: A Rock Odyssey Featuring Jack White Part 3
SUIT REPORT:
Decidedly Non-Goth Gray Suit | White Shirt | Skinny Red Horizontal Stripe Tie | Goth Ensemble (Complete with Black Sheer Sleeves)
VIDEOS:
Thursday June 23, 2011

The finish to our Music Week, Stephen brings down the house with his new sure-to-be hit, “Charlene II (I’m Over You).” It is so great that Stephen is using his attempt to revive his 80s splendor by also attempting to address an interesting issue: the digitization of the music industry itself. I don’t know about you, but I am so getting a copy of the new vinyl (preferably the red, white, and blue one.) Now I just have to buy a record player!

Jack White is typically associated with Conan, but I these two hit it off fairly well. Be sure to check out their Catholic-off. The only time Jack seemed to become a little unglued was when Stephen was hamming it up in his White Stripes garb.

It would be behoovy of us to paper the town and help find Stephen’s missing cat!

So what did you think of Stephen’s performance and the Goth gals? Comment up!

  • Last night the President addressed the Nation from the East Room of the White House, or as it has been officially renamed, the “I Killed Bin Laden” Room.  Personally I thought it was in poor taste to put up the championship banner.
  • I don’t want to see America become America’s Vietnam.
  • Rod Stewart! Do you have any Rod Stewart?
  • Thank you very much. Can you clean that up? I was licking it.
  • (JW) What’s a “Colbert Bump”? (SC) You, m******r, are about to find out!

  1. lockhart43
    June 25, 2011 at 12:14 AM

    This. Episode. Was. Awesome! First of all, Jack White is just fantastic. He was so willing to play, and was totally unafraid to talk back to Stephen, which was hilarious and made every segment with him more enjoyable. I cracked up when he laughed and said, “it’s not famous” when Stephen was introducing “Charlene (I’m Right Behind You)” at the end of the show. The bit with the White Stripes outfit had me rolling with laughter. And finally, the song? Stephen singing the song? PURE JOY. The song had a definite Jack White touch to it (to me, it sounded like something from one of his bands, The Raconteurs). And I loved that you could tell Stephen was clearly having fun and really enjoying himself.

    There was so much that was right with this episode. I think it might be one of my favorites, ever. Also, the fact that the Black Belles were wearing blue ties with red stripes to complement Stephen’s red with blue striped tie was a very nice touch. Plus, those Belles were pretty bada**. I hope they release a full record sometime soon; I’d definitely check it out.

    Like

    • mrarkadinnfz
      June 25, 2011 at 1:40 AM

      “I cracked up when he laughed and said, “it’s not famous” when Stephen was introducing “Charlene (I’m Right Behind You)” at the end of the show.”

      I loved that part too! White was like an exasperated parent finally losing it with their none to bright child. 😉

      Speaking of the bada$$ Black Belles.I wonder if they ever “broke character” when dealing with Stephen. If not, they’re better people then me. I would’ve completely lost it. 😀

      Like

      • lockhart43
        June 25, 2011 at 3:31 AM

        White was like an exasperated parent finally losing it with their none to bright child.

        Yes! That’s a good way to describe it. I just loved the way he interacted with him throughout everything – he never seemed nervous or intimidated by the ridiculousness of “Stephen.” He just went with it, laughed when he thought something was funny and then would answer as straight as possible. Another favorite line of his was when Stephen said “So this is where the magic happens” when walking into the wardrobe room, and White said back, “You can’t just say ‘this is where the magic happens’ with every room we walk into.” Ha!

        Like

  2. colbaby
    June 25, 2011 at 3:13 AM

    The nine minute catholic throwdown is one of the greatest things I’ve ever seen. I want to party with those two. And then go to confession.

    Pretty much ditto to everything Lockhart43 said. I was literally flailing with laughter when he came out dressed as a white stripe and then went into the “yum, yum yum yum yum” thing. Jack White just became a notch cooler in my book, if that’s even possible. I have a record player and a small collection of vinyl, so I feel I’m required to buy the album. Hmm, I know he said he wanted it all over the US, but maybe I’ll try to build up Stephen’s fanbase abroad and plaster the Have you seen our cat? poster around London.

    Like

    • lockhart43
      June 26, 2011 at 12:52 PM

      I feel the need to tell you how awesome it is that you own a record player.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

And that's the Word

