Home > Personal Appearances > Stephen Colbert and Jack White at The Lot | High Line TODAY at 11am.

Stephen Colbert and Jack White at The Lot | High Line TODAY at 11am.

@StephenAtHome
Jack White and I will be @ The Lot at the High Line, W. 30th St & 10th Ave in NYC. Will you? (Doors open at 11am. First come, first serve.)

Colbert, The Black Belles, and the Rolling Record Store Live in NYC!

Hope everyone enjoyed Jack and TMR on The Colbert Report this week. Hilarious right?!

The Stephen Colbert w/ The Black Belles “Charlene II (I’m Over You)” is available now in our web store and on iTunes.. Please help Stephen realize his hit single dream and buy a copy or 5 now..

In other great news The Rolling Record store is with Jack and the gang in New York and will be selling the Tri-Colors of the single tomorrow, Friday the 24th…And Stephen Colbert is gonna help us sell em. But that’s not before him and The Belles rock their new jam LIVE for the masses.. Yeah. One gig world tour. Put that in the “Don’t Miss” file.

It all goes down at High Line Park at 30th and 10th. The Rolling Record Store opens at 11 and the jams get kicked out soon after… So come see us for Colbert Red White and Blue Tri-Colors and other exclusive merch tomorrow. It’s gonna be LEGEND.

  1. susan209
    June 24, 2011 at 11:52 PM

    I CAN’T BELIEVE I’M GOING TO MISS THIS AND I’M ONLY A FEW MILES AWAY!!!! WAAAAHHHHH!!!!
    Please, please, please tell me someone is recording this!!!!!!!

    Like

    • karenatasha
      June 25, 2011 at 3:54 AM

      I know! I could not get out of work.

      I’m sure Stephen is having it recorded. Sigh.

      Like

      • susan209
        June 25, 2011 at 5:17 AM

        Karenatasha, there are so many strange parallels between Stephen’s new song and a song in my show that it is going to really seem weird if/when you get to see it. My show is all about crushes, after all… But seriously, when you see it, you will chuckle, I think, thinking of Stephen’s new song.

        I can’t wait to see the recording of this event. Figures that we’re right here in NY and can’t go.

        Like

  2. susan209
    June 25, 2011 at 3:07 AM

    Did anyone get to go?!?!? Please give us a full reporT!!!!

    Like

  3. carolineny
    June 25, 2011 at 4:09 AM

    I was there! I got lucky and saw Stephen’s tweet late last night. I took a few pictures (link here – https://picasaweb.google.com/carolinecurran1/ColbertAndJackWhiteLive?authkey=Gv1sRgCJaSsPT8l632xwE ). I didn’t take too many photos, for reasons I’ll explain later, but the Colbert Report staff was there and videoed the whole thing, so hopefully eveyyone will have a chance to see it.

    Anyway, here’s my report:

    The event was under under the HIgh Line – an elevated walkway on the West Side. It was a cool, industrial type setting – under a couple bridges. There was a good-sized crowd for the short notice. While waiting, I met some cool Jack White fans, including a boy who had made his own guitar. The part of the crowd I talked to seemed a bit more there for Jack White, -though there were plenty of people who were fans of both.

    Once we got in they were selling merchandise from Jack White’s label, but I wanted to have a good spot to watch the show, so I just went to the front. We had a fairly long wait (over an hour once we were let in) and got rained on, but then Jack White came on stage with the Black Belles. Jack spoke a bit, reading a statement he said Stephen had given him, saying how wonderful it was to work with Stephen. He did a funny deadpan delivery of the statement.

    Then Stephen came on stage, and he and Jack sang the National Anthem together – very nice. During Stephen’s short intro, he was getting a bit frustrated that everyone was taking pictures and videos. He was trying to get the crowd more into it, at one point saying something like, “Let me hear just the guy in the blue shirt. The guy in the blue shirt (silence). Put down your camera!”

    At that point I took my hint and put away my camera. Then Jack White went off-stage and Stephen and the Black Belles did a kick-ass version of the new Charlene song. It sounded great – really rocked.

    Then the performance was over and they went over to sign autographs. I was disappointed that it ended so quickly – and I think the Jack White fans were even more so, I mean there was a guitar up there and Jack didn’t do any of his own songs. A wasted chance to get some new fans, I’d say.

    But Stephen did a great job and brought a lot of energy, as usual. I didn’t wait for autographs (the line was huge and I’d already been standing for hours), but it looked like they were going to try to sign for everybody, which was nice.

    All in all, a cool event, but I wish they had performed longer.

    Like

  4. susan209
    June 25, 2011 at 5:14 AM

    Great reporT! Thanks, Carolineny! And nice pics, too! Does anyone have any idea how to get the limited edition of the record? The red, white, & blue one? I’m afraid it will soon appear on ebay at a cost waaay over my head. But I sure would love to have it and put it in a frame.

    Like

  5. carolineny
    • mrarkadinnfz
      June 25, 2011 at 6:51 AM

      Wow! You write a great reporT & then you find this too?! You are one formidable hubster, Carolineny. πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much!

      Like

    • June 25, 2011 at 11:02 PM

      Thanks for the awesome recap and pics carolineny!!

      Like

  6. carolineny
    June 25, 2011 at 9:20 AM

    Aw, thanks, mrarkadinnf, I was happy to do it. Always fun to share Colbert stuff with “it-getters”!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

And that's the Word

